drop spindle: 3rd ounce of fiber

Yesterday morning I started spinning my 3rd ounce of fiber, and it was a dream! The fiber, R.H. Lindsay Domestic Wool in Grey Fawn, is rustic and not very soft, and even has small pieces of dried plants in it. I don’t care! It’s perfect! The fibers stick together and they’re hardy and strong, so I could spin relatively thin and even. Since I spun a thinner yarn, the same amount of fiber lasted longer, and I got more practice out of it.

DSC01988

spinning the single (fiber: R.H. Lindsay Domestic Wool in Grey Fawn)

DSC01995

forming a two-ply ball for plying (left) from a center pull ball (right)

DSC01998

plying

DSC02003

the plied yarn!

DSC02001

I’m going to wash it and knit a swatch out of it.

Since I’ve run out of fiber for spinning, and since I realized I’d spun my previous fiber (Ashland Bay Superwash BFL) too thick, I thought I’d try re-spinning it. It’s going slowly, but well:

DSC02004

Here are the fibers I’ve ordered (8 ounces of each). I hope they get here soon!

I’m reading the kindle version of “Respect the Spindle” by Abby Franquemont. It is inspiring, in-depth and fascinating so far. Highly recommended.

Leave a Reply

