spinning Gotland and Targhee

My boyfriend got me many gifts for my birthday, one of which arrived in the mail Thursday: a LOT of spinning fiber from Spunky Eclectic. It’s my first time spinning colorful (dyed) fiber and I’m enjoying it immensely!

I started off with this lovely Gotland wool in an alien green:

DSC02114

My spindle weighs 54 grams (1.9 oz) according to my scale, so I spun until it weighed 90 grams (3.17 oz), wound off a single ball of 36 grams (1.26 oz) around a coin, then repeated. So I now have two balls of single yarn, which I will let set and then I will ply (2-ply) on my beloved drop spindle.
DSC02116

I love seeing the variations in color, and there also seems to be some dark brown fibers in there as well. Spinning this wool was a joy.DSC02119

I’m going to spin the same amount of fiber from this hand dyed Targhee wool (oranges, yellows, greens). I love seeing the colors change as I spin. The Targhee is super crimpy, and it looks sort of like foam! It too is a pleasure to spin.

DSC02120

Leave a Reply

